Research

As I dive more fully into my next book, I get to do more research.  Y’all have no idea how much fun it can be to write a book.  Ride-alongs with police, going out to the country to shoot an AK-47, figuring out just what it feels like to come back from a coma.  Great stuff.

Bugatti Veyron W16 engine
Bugatti Veyron W-16 engine

While most of us authors tend to base our work in life experience, the imagination is the engine of story … truly.  If I’m to follow my imagination where it leads me, I have to investigate the truth–and it HAS to be right.

Amazing how pieces of research will inspire new twists to my books.  An episode of FBI Files (which I watched incessantly when I was getting into the head of one character) inspired a scene from my book.  A ride-along, not by me but by another author who shared her story, inspired a gesture.

Tell me about your research today.  What are you trying to bring from the world of imagination to the reality of story?

3 thoughts on “Research

  1. Well, I totally disagree. I mean, for New Year I am having to take an arduous trip to Paris, where i’m forced to stay in a former palace and spend hours lazing around in cafes people-watching. All because of this pesky “research” people insist I do. Outrageous, really it is.

  2. T Allen, yours sound so interesting. Religion contains so much passion, violence, and humility.

    And Mark–you are so naughty! I shall slap you one day when I come to your book signing. Seriously. And you may punch me when you come to mine.

Leave a Reply

