The Next Big Thing: Crime and Love as Paradox

This post is part of the Next Big Thing Blog Tour from which I was tagged by Malena Lott.  I’m to answer a group of questions about my work in progress.

What is the working title of your book?   PARADOX.

Where did the idea come from for the book?  It’s the second in my series of artist mysteries based on modern art techniques.

Like the reverse perspectives of Patrick Hughes in DISTORTION, the art of Jeremy Geddes inspired plot twists in PARADOX
Like the reverse perspectives of Patrick Hughes in DISTORTION, the art of Jeremy Geddes and graffiti artists like ROA inspired plot twists in PARADOX

What genre does your book come under?   Suspense, mystery, crime novel—but with the twist of taking place in the backstreets of the art world

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?  An FBI art crimes investigator becomes obsessed with paradoxical art as she investigates an impossible crime.

Is your book self-published, published by an independent publisher, or represented by an agency?   That’s a mystery.  So far I’ve been working with a small publisher called Buzz Books USA.  I haven’t sent them this one yet.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?  I am still in the first draft, about 3/4 of the way through. 

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?  My books are a bit different from most crime novels.  My main character, Adele Proust, has been compared to Sophie Littlefield’s Stella Hardesty, but I think she’s quite different.  My writing style has been compared to Michael Crichton and Dan Brown.  I do write clean, fast prose as much as possible, but I think my work reflects more of the feminine mystique.

"Warsaw" by ROA
“Warsaw” by ROA

Who or what inspired you to write this book?  When researching at techniques, I wasn’t interested in paradox until I found the art of ROA and Jeremy Geddes.  To me, the fascinating aspect of paradox is not impossibility, but possibility.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?  Like in life, my books contain an illogical romantic thread.  Sorry, it comes from the heart.  Since the theme of this book is paradox, I’m looking at impossible love in a new way.  I want to focus on the possibility.

So tell me about that possibility of love you never followed.

3 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing: Crime and Love as Paradox

Leave a Reply

