Better and better

If you are here for acoustic neuroma information, click over to Mayfield Clinic, my fave site on the topic. It is not where I had surgery.
If you are here for acoustic neuroma information, click over to Mayfield Clinic, my fave site on the topic. It is not where I had surgery.

I feel great.  Having had surgery two months ago, I’m still amazed by the power of medical science. How blessed I am NOT to have cancer, Meniere’s, or any other dreadful disease. Instead the doctors just scooped out a lump of junk from my brain. It was about the size of a ping pong ball.

Follow-up is slow but fantastic. I started driving two weeks ago, just before returning to work. My biggest obstacles are:

1) working out–I am body builder and feel weak/crampy when I don’t lift heavy weights; and
2) creative thinking … gulp.

Yes, I am a writer and my creative thinking has been affected by this, either because of the surgery or because of the stress. My mind has no trouble writing nonfiction articles about the kids or blog posts about everyday stuff. Creating characters, worlds, and fictional situations has proven a challenge.

Why? Apparently in this type of surgery (acoustic neuroma),the doctor has to push your brain out of the way to get to the tumor. My surgery lasted over 8 hours so the brain was likely pushed-on for 6 of those hours. Completely unavoidable.

I’m grateful to be free of vertigo and that mysterious lump that had been pushing on my brainstem. As far as fiction is concerned, that’s a goal I can take my time with. A couple weeks ago I had some massive bursts of creativity and wrote a lot. Since that time, my head just aches when I write … but I try for short bits anyway. Amazing how much more I appreciate every word that makes the page.

So in the same way that I go to the gym and pick up little 5-pound weights, I now sit down to a forced writing prompt or a very small, simple writing goal. I’m optimistic that my brain will soon forgive our shoving. My ability, no NEED, to write fiction will return.

In the meantime, consider me grateful to be getting better and better.

2 thoughts on “Better and better

Leave a Reply

