Suspense for a Long Weekend and Beyond

Thanks to Ebook Discovery for including DISTORTION in their “Not for the Faint of Heart” thriller selections for the day. there are several great selections on the list, including some free ones so check it out here:

image

I have sort of withdrawn from the book promotion arena lately so it’s a nice surprise when someone is kind enough to bring up DISTORTION. I hope to be publishing fiction again quite soon. More on that to come.

For those of you who are fans of suspense, I’m working on book column in honor of Hitchcock’s birthday and love to include reader recommendations. One caveat: they must have an OK connection, either on the shelf at an OKC bookshop, written by an OK author or recommended by an Oklahoman. Feel free to send short recs for that on my contacts page.

And finally, a note on believing in yourself:

After an invitation and very strong encouragement from an editor, I applied for a big-time writing grant. Per her advice, the goal isn’t even to get the grant, but to make the finals so national magazines will give me a second look. But the fact is that my writing is already benefitting from the grant proposal. I feel so much better about myself and my words since putting my best out for those judges. It forced me to look at myself in a more positive light.

I won’t know anything until October—and the suspense may kill me—but in the meantime, I have been forced to take myself more seriously. Isn’t that something we all have to do first, before we can expect the industry to do so?

One Comment

Leave a Reply

