Art Crawl: Insights

Ice storm outside. I need a distraction and enjoy the way art offers fresh insights or flips my viewpoint. Here’s some I enjoyed this month. I’ll let the work speak for itself.

Over at PLAZM, I immediately connected with the ragamuffin distortions of Portland artist, Storm Tharp.  The online gallery features twenty brilliant works online.

Storm Tharp's BOOM
Click over to PLAZM to enjoy the full gallery.

 

And at Art Crimes, I took in the multiple dimensions of Swet from Denmark. Again, there’s a large body of work at their site.

image
Click the image to visit the gallery at graffiti.org

Back closer to home, the art of Narciso Arguelles at the OVAC blog felt very relevant right now. I’m so heartbroken by the hate speech pervading our political debates and can only hope that his perspective, growing up on both sides of the border, will open minds.

image
Click to visit his artist gallery at the Oklahoma Visual Arts Coalition

 

And of course nothing beats actually visiting artists at work in their studio as I did last month for Art Focus Oklahoma Magazine. My article on Sara and Shane Scribner is on the cover and pp. 8-9.

image
Click to read the whole magazine

 

Leave a Reply

