#amwriting

(Wedding Candles by Marc Chagall, one of several works stolen in PARADOX.)

Looking forward a couple months, I have an opportunity to focus all my writing energy on Paradox. Each of my recent anthology publications diverted a little energy from my current work in progress. When you work a day job, that means cutting writing time.

I tell stories because I need to.  Like many writers, I do so less for publication than just for me.  When I don’t, there’s a little voice in the back of my head saying, you know, you need to write the next chapter or actually put out a query.  It’s time.

This is my passion.  The fun stuff.

If you write, I have one piece of advice:  Stay in the groove.  Keep your writing passion alive.

We all have to do the side stuff.  We have to meet deadlines.  We have to make sales, but we also have to keep the words flowing from the gut.  They are our art.

Eannatum, Prince of Lagash, 2600-2340 BC

In my Paradox edit, I get to steal my fave piece of sculpture.  In my upcoming screenplay, I get to explore a problem of humanity that’s close to my heart.  What’s great about the lulls is that for a little while, I get to immerse myself in those worlds.  No matter what your art, I hope you let yourself enjoy the fun stuff.

 

P.S.  It’ll be rather quiet around here for a while but I will update new publications in the sidebar and pist every month or so.

Wishing you all a great write!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “#amwriting

  1. I don’t know if I envy or pity writers who say they need to write. Probably a little bit of both. 🙂 I don’t need to write, and there have been periods in my life when I haven’t, but I certainly love to write and it’s fulfilling in a way nothing else is.

    But I know I feel sad for writers who write for publication and not for joy. (Writing for both is fine, everyone needs to eat.)

    What I think I’m saying is I agree with you. Yes to the writing passion!

Leave a Reply

